Regulation of the Hanover Board of Health
Restricting the Sale of Tobacco Products

A. Statement of Purpose:

Whereas there exists conclusive evidence that tobacco smokmg causes cancer, respiratory and cardiac diseases,
negative birth outcomes, irritations to the eyes, nose and throat';

Whereas the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has concluded that nicotine is as addictive as
cocaine or heroin’ and the Surgeon General found that nicotine exposure during adolescence a critical window
for brain development, may have lasting adverse consequences for brain development,’ and that it is addiction
to nicotine that keeps youth smoking past adolescence®;

Whereas a Federal District Court found that Phillip Morris, RJ Reynolds and other leading cigarette
manufacturers “spent billions of dollars every year on their marketing activities in order to encourage young
people to try and then continue purchasing their cigarette products in order to provide the replacement smokers
they need to survive” and that these companies were likely to continue targeting underage smokers’;

Whereas more than 80 percent of all adult smokers begin smoking before the age of 18, more than 90 percent
do so before leaving their teens, and more than 3.5 million middle and high school students smoke®;

Whereas 18.1 percent of current smokers aged <18 years reported that they usually directly purchased their
cigarettes from stores (i.e. convenience store supermarket, or discount store) or gas stations, and among 110
grade males this rate was nearly 30 percent’;

Whereas the Institute of Medicine (IOM) concludes that raising the minimum age of legal access to tobacco
products to 21 will likely reduce tobacco initiation, particularly among adolescents 15 — 17, which would
improve health across the lifespan and save lives®;

Whereas cigars and cigarillos, can be sold in a single “dose;” enjoy a relatively low tax as compared to

cigarettes; are available in fruit, candy and alcohol flavors; and are popular among youth’;

Whereas research shows that increased cigar prices significantly decreased the probability of male adolescent
cigar use and a 10% increase in cigar prices would reduce use by 3. 4%,
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Whereas 59% of high school smokers in Massachusetts have tried flavored cigarettes or flavored cigars and
25.6% of them are current flavored tobacco product users; 95.1 % of 12 — 17 year old’s who smoked cigars
reported smoking cigar brands that were flavored'!;

Whereas the Surgeon General found that exposure to tobacco marketing in stores and price discounting increase
youth smokinglz;

Whereas the federal Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act (FSPTCA), enacted in 2009,
prohibited candy- and fruit-flavored ci garettes,"” largely because these flavored products were marketed to
youth and young adults,* and younger smokers were more likely to have tried these products than older
smokers'>, neither federal nor Massachusetts laws restrict sales of flavored non-cigarette tobacco products, such
as cigars, cigarillos, smokeless tobacco, hookah tobacco, and electronic devices and the nicotine solutions used
in these devices;

Whereas the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and the U.S. Surgeon General have stated that flavored
tobacco products are considered to be “starter” products that help establish smoking habits that can lead to long-
term addiction'$;

Whereas the U.S. Surgeon General recognized in his 2014 report that a complementary strategy to assist in
eradli;:ating tobacco-related death and disease is for local governments to ban categories of products from retail
sale ’;

Whereas use of e-cigarettes among students in Massachusetts is 20.1%, representing a 78% increase for high

schoolers and a 48% increase for middle schoolers in one year'>;
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Whereas the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection has classified liquid nicotine in any

5519,

amount as an “acutely hazardous waste” ”;

Whereas in a lab analysis conducted by the FDA, electronic cigarette cartridges that were labeled as containing
“no nicotine” actually had low levels of nicotine present in all cartridges tested, except for one®’;

Whereas according to the CDC’s youth risk behavior surveillance system, the percentage of high school
students in Massachusetts who reported the use of cigars within the past 30 days was 10.8% in 2013%';

Whereas data from the National Youth Tobacco Survey indicate that more than two-fifths of U.S. middle and
high school smokers report using flavored little cigars or flavored cigarettes®;

Whereas the sale of tobacco products is incompatible with the mission of health care institutions because these
products are detrimental to the public health and their presence in health care institutions undermine efforts to
educate patients on the safe and effective use of medication, including cessation medication;

Whereas educational institutions sell tobacco products to a younger population, who is particularly at risk for
becoming smokers and such sale of tobacco products is incompatible with the mission of educational

institutions that educate a younger population about social, environmental and health risks and harms; and

Whereas the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court has held that ““. . . [t]he right to engage in business must
yield to the paramount right of government to protect the public health by any rational means”?.

Now, therefore it is the intention of the Hanover Board of Health to regulate the sale of tobacco products.
B. Authority:

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted to the Hanover Board of Health by
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 111, Section 31 which states "Boards of health may make reasonable
health regulations".

C. Definitions:

For the purpose of this regulation, the following words shall have the following meanings:

Adult-Only Retail Tobacco Store: An establishment that does not share space with another business, that has a
separate entrance, that does not sell food or alcohol, that does not have a restaurant license or lottery license,

'® MA YRBS 2017
19310 CMR 30.136
% Food and Drug Administration, Summary of Results: Laboratory Analysis of Electronic Cigarettes Conducted by FDA, available at:
http://www.fda.eov/newsevents/publichealthfocus/ucm173146.htm.
21 See fn. 7.
2 King BA, Tynan MA, Dube SR, et al. 2013, “Flavored-Little-Cigar and Flavored-Cigarette Use Among U.S. Middle and High
School Students.” Journal of Adolescent Health. [ Article in press], www.jahonline.ore/article/S1054-139X%2813%2900415-
1/abstract.
% Druzik et al v. Board of Health of Haverhill, 324 Mass.129 (1949).
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whose only purpose is to sell or offer for retail sale tobacco products and/or tobacco product paraphernalia, in
which the entry of persons under the age of 21 is prohibited at all times, and which maintains a valid permit for
the retail sale of tobacco products from the Hanover Board of Health and applicable state licenses. Entrance to
the establishment must be secure so that access to the establishment is restricted to employees and to those 21
years or older. The establishment shall not allow anyone under the age of 21 to work at the establishment. As
of the effective date of this regulation, no new adult-only retail tobacco stores shall be located within twenty-
five (25) feet of a retailer with a tobacco product sales permit.

Blunt Wrap: Any tobacco product manufactured or packaged as a wrap or as a hollow tube made wholly or in
part from tobacco that is designed or intended to be filled by the consumer with loose tobacco or other fillers
regardless of any content.

Business Agent: An individual who has been designated by the owner or operator of any establishment to be the
manager or otherwise in charge of said establishment.

Cigar: Any roll of tobacco that is wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing tobacco with or
without a tip or mouthpiece not otherwise defined as a cigarette under Massachusetts General Law, Chapter
64C, Section 1, Paragraph 1.

Educational Institution: Any public or private college, school, professional school, scientific or technical
institution, university or other institution furnishing a program of higher education.

Employee: Any individual who performs services for an employer.

Employer: Any individual, partnership, association, corporation, trust or other organized group of individuals
that uses the services of one (1) or more employees.

Electronic Nicotine Delivery System: An electronic device, whether for 1-time use or reusable, that can be used
to deliver nicotine or another substance to a person inhaling from the device including, but not limited to,
electronic cigarettes, electronic cigars, electronic cigarillos, electronic pipes, vaping pens, hookah pens and
other similar devices that rely on vaporization or aerosolization; provided, however, that “electronic nicotine
delivery system” shall also include any noncombustible liquid or gel that is manufactured into a finished
product for use in such electronic device; provided further, that “electronic nicotine delivery system” shall also
include any component, part or accessory of a device used during the operation of the device even if the part or
accessory was sold separately; provided further, that “electronic nicotine delivery system” shall not include a
product that has been approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration for the sale of or use as a
tobacco cessation product or for other medical purposes and is marketed and sold or prescribed exclusively for
that approved purpose.

Minimum Legal Sales Age (MLSA): The age an individual must be before that individual can be sold a tobacco
product in the municipality.



Permit Holder: Any person engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco products who applies for and receives
a tobacco product sales permit or any person who is required to apply for a Tobacco Product Sales Permit
pursuant to these regulations, or his or her business agent.

Person: Any individual, firm, partnership, association, corporation, company or organization of any kind,
including but not limited to, an owner, operator, manager, proprietor or person in charge of any establishment,
business or retail store.

Self-Service Display: Any display from which customers may select a tobacco product, as defined herein,
without assistance from an employee or store personnel.

Schools: Public or private elementary or secondary schools.

Tobacco Product: A product containing or made or derived from tobacco or nicotine that is intended for human
consumption, whether smoked, chewed, absorbed, dissolved, inhaled, snorted, sniffed or ingested by any other
means including, but not limited to, cigarettes, cigars, little cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, snuff,
electronic cigarettes, electronic cigars, electronic pipes, electronic nicotine delivery systems or any other similar
products that rely on vaporization or acrosolization regardless of nicotine content in the product; provided,
however, that “tobacco product” shall also include any component, part or accessory of a tobacco product; and
provided further, that “tobacco product” shall not include a product that has been approved by the United States
Food and Drug Administration for the sale of or use as a tobacco cessation product or for other medical
purposes and is marketed and sold or prescribed exclusively for the approved purpose.

Vending Machine: Any automated or mechanical self-service device, which upon insertion of money, tokens or
any other form of payment, dispenses or makes cigarettes or any other tobacco products, as defined herein.

D. Tobacco Sales to Persons Under the Minimum Legal Sales Age Prohibited:

1. No person shall sell or provide a tobacco product, as defined herein, to a person under the minimum legal
sales age. The minimum legal sales age in Hanover is 21.

2. Required Signage:

a. In conformance with and in addition to Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 270, Section 7, a copy of
Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 270, Section 6, shall be posted conspicuously by the owner or
other person in charge thereof in the shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at retail. The
notice shall be provided by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health and made available from the
Hanover Board of Health. The notice shall be at least 48 square inches and shall be posted
conspicuously by the permit holder in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so that it
may be readily seen by a person standing at or approaching the cash register. The notice shall directly
face the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4 feet or
greater than 9 feet from the floor. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to
sell tobacco products at retail shall conspicuously post any additional signs required by the
Massachusetts Department of Public Health. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other
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place used to sell hand rolled cigars must display a warning about cigar consumption in a sign at least 50
square inches pursuant to 940 CMR 22.05 (2) (e).

b. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products, as defined
herein, at retail shall conspicuously post signage provided by the Hanover Board of Health that discloses
current referral information about smoking cessation.

c. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products that rely on
vaporization or aerosolization, as defined herein as “Tobacco Products”, at retail shall conspicuously
post a sign stating that “The sale of tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, to someone under the
minimum legal sales age of 21 years is prohibited.” The notice shall be no smaller than 8.5 inches by 11
inches and shall be posted conspicuously in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so
that it may be readily seen by a person standing at or approaching the cash register. The notice shall
directly face the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than four
(4) feet or greater than nine (9) feet from the floor.

3. Identification: Each person selling or distributing tobacco products, as defined herein, shall verify the age of
the purchaser by means of a valid government-issued photographic identification containing the bearer's date of
birth that the purchaser is 21or older. Verification is required for any person under the age of 27.

4. All retail sales of tobacco products, as defined herein, must be face-to-face between the seller and the buyer
and occur at the permitted location.

E. Tobacco Product Sales Permit:

1. No person shall sell or otherwise distribute tobacco products, as defined herein, within the Town of Hanover
without first obtaining a Tobacco Product Sales Permit issued annually by the Hanover Board of Health. Only
owners of establishments with a permanent, non-mobile location in Hanover are eligible to apply for a permit
and sell tobacco products, as defined herein, at the specified location in Hanover.

2. As part of the Tobacco Product Sales Permit application process, the applicant will be provided with the
Hanover regulation. Each applicant is required to sign a statement declaring that the applicant has read said
regulation and that the applicant is responsible for instructing any and all employees who will be responsible for
tobacco product sales regarding federal, state and local laws about the sale of tobacco and this regulation.

3. Each applicant who sells tobacco products is required to provide proof of current Tobacco Retailer Licenses
issued by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue, when required by state law, before a Tobacco Product
Sales Permit can be issued. Applicant may be asked to provide evidence that a legitimate business transfer or
business purchase has taken place.

4. A separate permit, displayed conspicuously, is required for each retail establishment selling tobacco products,
as defined herein. The fee shall be determined by the Hanover Board of Health annually.



5. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit is non-transferable. A new owner of an establishment that sells tobacco
products, as defined herein, must apply for a new permit. No new permit will be issued unless and until all
outstanding penalties incurred by the previous permit holder are satisfied in full.

6. Issuance of a Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall be conditioned on an applicant’s consent to unannounced,
periodic inspections of his/her retail establishment to ensure compliance with this regulation.

7. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has failed to pay all fines issued and
the time period to appeal the fines has expired and/or the permit holder has not satisfied any outstanding permit
suspensions.

8. A Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall not be issued to any new applicant for a retail location within five
hundred (500) feet of a public or private elementary or secondary school as measured by a straight line from the
nearest point of the property line of the school to the nearest point of the property line of the site of the
applicant’s business premises. Applicants who purchase or acquire an existing business that holds a valid
Tobacco Product Sales Permit at the time of the sale or acquisition of said business must apply within sixty (60)
days of such sale or acquisition for the permit held by the current permit holder if the Applicant intends to sell
tobacco products, as defined herein.

F. Prohibition of the Sale of Blunt Wraps:

No person or entity shall sell or distribute blunt wraps in Hanover.

G. Out-of-Package Sales:

The sale or distribution of tobacco products, as defined herein, in any form other than an original factory-
wrapped package is prohibited, including the repackaging or dispensing of any tobacco product, as defined
herein, for retail sale. No person may sell or cause to be sold or distribute or cause to be distributed any
cigarette package that contains fewer than twenty (20) cigarettes, including single cigarettes.

H. Self-Service Displays:

All self-service displays of tobacco products, as defined herein, are prohibited. All humidors including, but not
limited to, walk-in humidors must be locked. The only self-service displays that are permissible pursuant to
U.S. FDA and Massachusetts Attorney General regulations are displays that are located in Adult-Only Retail
Tobacco Stores that ensure that no person younger than 21 is present, or permitted to enter, at any time.

I. Vending Machines:

All vending machines containing tobacco products, as defined herein, are prohibited.

J. Incorporation of State Laws and State Regulations:
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1.

The sale or distribution of tobacco products, as defined herein, must comply with those provisions found
at M.G.L. Ch. 270, §§6, 6A, 7 and M.G.L. Ch. 112, §61A.

The sale or distribution of tobacco products, as defined herein, must comply with those provisions found
at 940 CMR 21.00 (“Sale and Distribution of Cigarettes, Smokeless Tobacco Products, and Electronic
Smoking Devices in Massachusetts”) and 940 CMR 22.00 (“Sale and Distribution of Cigars in
Massachusetts™).

K. Violations:

1. It shall be the responsibility of the establishment, permit holder and/or his or her business agent to ensure
compliance with all sections of this regulation.

a.

In the case of a first violation, a fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales
Permit shall be suspended for one (1) business day if the violation is a sale of tobacco product to a
person under 21. Sale to a person under 21 a ($1,000) fine and 1 day license suspension.

In the case of a second violation within twenty-four (24) months of the date of the current violation, a
fine of two hundred dollars ($200.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall be suspended for
seven (7) consecutive business days. Sale to a person under 21 a ($2,000) fine and 7 day license
suspension.

In the case of a third violation within twenty-four (24) months of the current violation, a fine of three
hundred dollars ($300.00) and the Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall be suspended for thirty (30)
consecutive business days. Sale to a person under 21 a ($5,000) fine and 30 day license suspension.

In the case of four violations or repeated, egregious violations of this regulation, as determined by the
Board of Health, within a twenty-four (24) month period, a fine of three hundred dollars ($300.00) and
the Board of Health shall hold a hearing in accordance with subsection 4 of this section and shall
suspend a Tobacco Product Sales Permit for a minimum of twelve (12) and a maximum of thirty-six
(36) months.

2. Any person or entity selling any tobacco product without a valid Tobacco Product Sales Permit shall be fined
fifty dollars ($50.00) per day until said Permit is issued or reinstated by the Hanover Board of Health or its
designated agent.

3. Failure to cooperate with inspections pursuant to this regulation shall result in the suspension of the Tobacco
Product Sales Permit for thirty (30) consecutive business days.

4. In addition to the monetary fines set above, any permit holder who engages in the sale or distribution of
tobacco products while his or her permit is suspended shall be subject to the suspension of all Board of Health
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issued permits for thirty (30) consecutive business days. Multiple tobacco product sales permit suspensions
shall not be served concurrently.

5. The Hanover Board of Health shall provide notice of the intent to suspend or revoke a Tobacco Product Sales
Permit, which notice shall contain the reasons therefor and establish a time and date for a hearing which date
shall be no earlier than seven (7) days after the date of said notice. The permit holder or its business agent shall
have an opportunity to be heard at such hearing and shall be notified of the Board of Health's decision and the
reasons therefor in writing. After a hearing, the Hanover Board of Health may suspend or revoke the Tobacco
Product Sales Permit if the Board of Health finds that a violation of this regulation occurred. All tobacco
products, as defined herein, shall be removed from the retail establishment upon suspension or revocation of the
Tobacco Product Sales Permiit. Failure to remove all tobacco products, as defined herein, shall constitute a

separate violation of this regulation.

L. Non-Criminal Disposition:

Whoever violates any provision of this regulation may be penalized by the non-criminal method of disposition
as provided in Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, Section 21D.

M. Separate Violations: Each day any violation exists shall be deemed to be a separate offense.

N. Enforcement:

Enforcement of this regulation shall be by the Hanover Board of Health or its designated agent(s).
Any resident who desires to register a complaint pursuant to the regulation may do so by contacting the
Hanover Board of Health or its designated agent(s) and the Board shall investigate.

O, Severabilitv:

If any provision of this regulation is declared invalid or unenforceable, the other provisions shall not be affected
thereby but shall continue in full force and effect.

P. Effective Date:
This regulation shall take effect on March 1, 2022.
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